Vermont EPSCoR - About

Vermont EPSCoR - Established Program to Stimulate Competitive Research

The Established Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR) is a program designed to fulfill the National Science Foundation's (NSF) mandate to promote scientific progress nationwide. The EPSCoR program is directed at those jurisdictions that have historically received lesser amounts of NSF Research and Development (R&D) funding.

Twenty-three states, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, Guam, and the U.S. Virgin Islands are currently eligible to participate. The states are: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Delaware, Hawaii, Idaho, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Vermont, West Virginia, and Wyoming.

Please note: Iowa, Tennessee, and Utah are no longer eligible for new EPSCoR awards, but have current active awards.

Through this program, NSF establishes partnerships with government, higher education and industry that are designed to effect lasting improvements in a state's or region's research infrastructure, R&D capacity and hence, its national R&D competitiveness.